h1

How to shop. Part 1.

April 2, 2007

I know a lot of people who shop just because an item is branded or they shop just because of a particular label, but in fact, the item doesn’t even look half decent. I wouldn’t proclaim myself to be an expert, but I’m just telling you what I’ve learnt over the years from friends, family and people in the industry. I’ll break this down into parts, so I can think over and add on as I go along.

1. Forgo quantity, and look for quality. For the ladies, if you see a dress from, say, Chanel, and an almost identical one from H&M or Zara, you’ll be able to tell the difference in the stitching, the cut and the depth of colour. Quality is so important. Set aside a small sum of money and invest in a couple of good quality pieces.

2. Colour makes the world go round. Did you know that different colours can either make you look wonderfully healthy, and other colours can make you look pale and sickly? Work around with your eye colours, your skin tone. For example, white looks amazing with tanned skin, but if you’re fair, fret not – just make sure you’ve got a slight pop of colour on your cheeks or you’ll look washed out.

3. Just because someone looks good in it, doesn’t mean you would too. Kate Moss in leggings and a mini denim skirt, and she looks amazing? Chances are, she would, just because she’s Kate Moss, and you’re not.

4. Buy items that suit you, not just because it’s on trend. Some people just don’t fit stuff like leggings. I know of an extremely curvy girl who wore a leggings and mini denim skirt combo with ballet pumps, and she looked tragic. That was the perfect example. I, for one, cannot wear those fedoras that are so hot at the moment. I just can’t. Flat hats, newsboy caps and cowboy hats, yes, but just not fedoras.

5. Classic items will last a lifetime. When I buy larger items such as bags and accessories, I always think that if I can use it for more than 5 outfits, then I would buy it. If not, it just isn’t worth it. For ladies, a tulip skirt will probably last 2 or 3 seasons, but a pair of alligator pumps would probably last a lifetime.

To be continued…

P.S. Feel free to leave comments! =)

Leave a Reply

